ASDS Announces New Officers

George Hruza, MD

The American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS, has announced its newly elected officers and board of director members for 2013-2014. Their terms of office began at the Society’s Annual Business Meeting, held during the recent ASDS Annual Meeting in Atlanta.
George Hruza, MD, of Chesterfield, Missouri was elected vice president. He is a clinical professor of Dermatology and Otolaryngology at St. Louis University, assistant editor of the Dermatologic Surgery journal and a founding Stegman Circle Member. He will ascend to President-Elect in 2013-14 and to President in 2014-15.
Abel Torres, MD, of Loma Linda, California has been elected treasurer. Dr. Torres is a professor and chairman of the Department of Dermatology at Loma Linda University. He has been a member of the ASDS Board of Directors and Audit Committee since 2009. He will serve a three-year term through 2015.
Elected to three-year terms on the Board of Directors are: Marc D. Brown, MD, of Rochester, New York; Cheryl M. Burgess, MD, of Washington, D.C.; and Ken K. Lee, MD, of Portland, Oregon. All three will serve until 2015.
“I look forward to applying my passion, energy and experience to work on your behalf. The ASDS and ASDSA are strong organizations with a dedicated staff and countless physician volunteers,” said Dr. Hruza. “The ASDS and ASDSA have leveraged their strengths to punch far above their size on both the national and state levels. The ASDSA must continue to be at the forefront, fighting for patient safety through enactment of sensible patient safety regulations at the state level and educating the public about the dangers of the non-physician practice of medicine.”

Image: George Hruza, MD

More in News