ASDS Announces New Officers

Thomas E. Rohrer, MD, of Skincare Physicians in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, was elected president of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) and the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery Association (ASDSA) during the 2016 ASDS Annual Meeting in New Orleans.

Dr. Rohrer is an adjunct associate professor of dermatology at Brown University in Rhode Island. He received the ASDS President’s Award in 2010 and is a past recipient of the Excellence in Education award. “I will passionately fight for strong advocacy for all aspects of dermatology and dermatologic surgery on both the national and state level,” he said. “We must align with other organizations both within and outside of dermatology. We will be far more successful being proactive than reactive.”

The new ASDS leadership team also includes President-Elect Lisa M. Donofrio, MD, and Vice President Murad Alam, MD, MBA, as well as three new members of the Board of Directors and a new Board Secretary.

Dr. Donofrio is a partner at the Savin Center PC in New Haven, Connecticut. She also is an associate clinical professor in the department of dermatology at Yale University School of Medicine and assistant clinical professor in the department of dermatology at Tulane University School of Medicine. Dr. Donofrio has contributed to numerous ASDS efforts, including the Awards Work Group and Patient Photographic Consent Task Force. She will become ASDS President in 2017-18. “My goals are to create a unified voice for our specialty, to increase dermatologic surgery procedural requirements within our residency programs and to defend our position against legislative efforts that threaten to pigeonhole our scope of practice as dermatologists,” said Dr. Donofrio.

Dr. Alam, of Chicago, is vice chair of the department of dermatology at Northwestern University, where he also serves as a professor of dermatology, otolaryngology and surgery, and section chief of cutaneous and aesthetic surgery. “I hope to work with our physician leaders and capable staff to continue the important work of ASDS and to do my best to overcome obstacles in this time of uncertainty and change,” said Dr. Alam.

Doris J. Day, MD, of New York City; Lawrence J. Green, MD, of Rockville, Maryland; and Margaret A. Weiss, MD, of Hunt Valley, Maryland, have been elected to three-year terms on the ASDS/ASDSA Board of Directors. They will serve until the 2019 ASDS Annual Meeting.

Sue Ellen Cox, MD, also began her term as ASDS secretary. Dr. Cox was selected by the Board of Directors to serve as secretary until 2019.

More in Business