AAD Announces New Officers

Daniel M. Siegel, MD, FAAD, a Smithtown, New York, dermatologist, was introduced as the new president of the American Academy of Dermatology on March 20, 2012 at the conclusion of the Academy’s 70th Annual Meeting in San Diego. He will hold office for one year.
Dr. Siegel is a past member of the Academy’s board of directors and its executive committee. He earned his medical degree from Albany Medical College and completed his residency in dermatology at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center at Dallas. Dr. Siegel also has a master’s degree in management and policy from Stony Brook University.
He is joined by vice president Zoe D. Draelos, MD, FAAD, a High Point, North Carolina, dermatologist who has written eight dermatology textbooks and more than 300 scientific articles and is a consulting professor of dermatology at the Duke University School of Medicine.
The AAD also introduced four new members to its board of directors. They are:

• Stephen H. Mandy, MD, FAAD, volunteer clinical professor of dermatology at the University of Miami School of Medicine; past president of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery; and founding member and past president of the Florida Society of Dermatologic Surgeons.
• Jack S. Resneck Jr., MD, FAAD, associate professor and vice-chair of dermatology at the University of California, San Francisco; chair of the Academy’s council on government affairs, health policy and practice; and former president of the California Society of Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery.
• Kathryn Schwarzenberger, MD, FAAD, professor of medicine (dermatology) at the University of Vermont College of Medicine; chair of the Academy’s access to dermatologic care committee; and past president of the Vermont Dermatologic Society.
• Abel Torres, MD, JD, FAAD, professor and chairman of dermatology and associate professor of public health at Loma Linda University School of Medicine; past board member for the American College of Mohs Surgery and Cutaneous Oncology and the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery.

More in News