AAD Elects New President and Officers

Dr. Kenneth Tomecki, AAD president
Dr. Kenneth Tomecki, AAD president

The American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) has elected new officers for the coming year.

Kenneth J. Tomecki, MD, FAAD, is the new president of the AAD, after previously serving as vice president and a member of the board of directors. 

“The AAD made great strides during the pandemic to meet members’ unprecedented needs,” said Dr. Tomecki. “I look forward to continuing this work and keeping a pulse on how the pandemic continues to impact our members and the specialty, and the way we practice dermatology. Overall, in addition to paying special attention to member needs, patient care will always be my primary focus.” 

Neal Bhatia, MD, FAAD, will replace Tomecki as vice president of the AAD. He is the director of clinical dermatology at Therapeutics Clinical Research in San Diego, and serves as chief medical editor of Practical Dermatology

Both Dr. Tomecki and Dr. Bhatia will serve one-year terms.

The new board members include: 

April W. Armstrong, MD, MPH, FAAD, is the associate dean for clinical research and the vice chair and professor of dermatology at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles. She previously served the Academy as editorial board member of the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. 

Lindy P. Fox, MD, FAAD, is a professor of clinical dermatology at the University of California, San Francisco, where she is also director of hospital consultation service and complex medical dermatology fellowship. 

Maria K. Hordinsky, MD, FAAD, is a professor and chair of the department of dermatology at the University of Minnesota Medical School in Minneapolis. She is a current member of the AAD Curriculum Task Force and previously served as chair of the AAD Professionalism and Ethics Committee. 

Jennifer Lucas, MD, FAAD, is a staff physician and quality improvement officer at Cleveland Clinic in Cleveland, Ohio, and a clinical assistant professor at Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Case Western Reserve University. She currently serves on the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology editorial board and previously chaired the AAD’s Member Communications Committee and Residents and Fellows Committee. 

More in News