ASDS Welcomes New Officers and Board Members

The American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) has announced its officers for 2016. Naomi Lawrence, MD, is the new president of the ASDS and the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery Association (ASDSA). Dr. Lawrence is the head of the division of dermatology section of procedural dermatology and professor of clinical medicine at Cooper University Health Care in New Jersey. She was the 2007 recipient of the ASDS President’s Award, served as annual meeting chair in 2003 and has served on numerous ASDS committees, work groups and task forces since 1994.

The new ASDS leadership team also includes: President-Elect Thomas E. Rohrer, MD; Vice President Lisa M. Donofrio, MD; and Treasurer Matthew M. Avram, MD.

Dr. Rohrer is a physician at SkinCare Physicians in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, and adjunct associate professor of dermatology at Brown University. Dr. Donofrio is a partner at the Savin Center PC in New Haven, Connecticut, associate clinical professor in the department of dermatology at the Yale University School of Medicine, and assistant clinical professor in the department of dermatology at the Tulane University School of Medicine. Dr. Avram is director at the MGH Dermatology Laser and Cosmetic Center, assistant professor in the Harvard Medical School department of dermatology, and affiliate faculty at the Wellman Center for Photomedicine at Massachusetts General Hospital.

Additionally, the following ASDS/ASDSA Boards of Directors members have been elected to serve three-year terms: Jeremy Bordeaux, MD; Hayes B. Gladstone, MD; and Kavita Mariwalla, MD.

“It is an honor and a privilege to take this leadership position,” said Dr. Lawrence. “I have no doubt we can take the society to the next level with an emphasis on member engagement and promoting the unparalleled expertise ASDS members possess as the pioneers and innovators of dermatologic procedures. Several exciting projects are under way that will allow us to reach these objectives and help position our members for continued success.”

More in Business