ASDS Announces President’s Award Recipients

Four members of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) were honored with a President’s Award for contributing to the Society or the medical specialty in an extraordinary or unique way. George J. Hruza, MD, presented the awards during the 2015 ASDS Annual Meeting in Chicago as his final duty as the 2014-2015 ASDS president.

The 2015 recipients were:

  • Alastair Carruthers, MD, of Vancouver, Canada, for his development of the ASDS Future Leaders Network. He is an ASDS past president, currently serves as the Society’s historian/parliamentarian and has served as an ASDS visiting professor and a mentor through the International Traveling Mentorship Program and FLN. Dr. Carruthers has guided numerous ASDS work groups and task forces, and he is currently chair of the Strategic Planning Task Force.
  • Jean D. Carruthers, MD, of Vancouver, Canada for her leadership working with the Industry Advisory Council. She is an assistant editor of Dermatologic Surgery; served as chair of the Development and Industry Relations Work Group; has been a mentor through FLN; and served on a task force to generate guidelines for the reconstitution, use and storage of neurotoxins.
  • Mark D. Kaufmann, MD, of New York City, for his efforts as the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery Association (ASDSA) advisor on the American Medical Association’s Relative Value Scale Update Committee.
  • Susan H. Weinkle, MD, of Bradenton, Florida, for her active and ongoing involvement with ASDS, including her work to help spearhead a cosmetic course for residents. She is an ASDS Past President; has been an ASDS visiting professor; and serves as chair of the Development and Industry Relations Work Group, the Survey Work Group and the Nominating Committee.
More in Business